Patience is Wearing Thin

8 Aug

It has been a while since my last post.  Once school is back in session I will be a little more active in my posts, promise.  Unless anyone of authority from school is reading this, and then I would never ever dream of writing for fun during work hours.

So it’s been almost two weeks since Matt and I had our big leave it alone and be patient wedding talk.  In wannabe bride time, that’s like at least three months.  I have been really good and haven’t been pestering him at all.  I’ve hardly even brought up the W word.  However, Matt has not shied away from discussing the subject at length.

First, at our friends’ So Cal Wedding Reception (they got married in Buffalo), the topic of wedding table names came up.  Alyssa (engaged and getting married next July), was saying how she thought about naming her tables after Dodgers players.  I said we should have a Dodger Stadium table since that’s where we had our first date.  Matt is a huge Giants fan (really his only flaw) and he responds with “I won’t propose until you agree to have nothing Dodger related at our wedding.”

A few days ago, Kristen and I went with our friend Lisa (engaged and getting married next June) to the fabric district to look for material for her tablecloths.  Later I tell Matt that we talked about going over to the jewelry district and he responds “Oh yeah, the jewelry district.  Joe told me to go there because they have so many rings, but I don’t know if I want to deal with all the haggling and craziness.”

Ugh.  I’m trying so hard to be good.  So hard.  And this ring convo came after we had decided to not talk about weddings at all anymore.  So much for that.

So I have decided something (to myself only).  If we aren’t engaged by the end of this month, then the wedding isn’t going to happen next summer.  It just would be so much to deal with and not a lot of time to get it done.  And  it seems like the engagement is definitely not happening anytime this month.  We go back to work on Tuesday, students come back on Thursday and then we are back to life as normal.

And the truly annoying thing is I will have to suffer multiple interrogations about our engagement status upon returning to school, but no one will bother asking Matt.  Which really is ridiculous since he is the one in control.  God I hate saying that.

Sigh.  Sorry, there is nothing really amusing about this post.  Just more whining and complaining.  I will try to be in a better mood next time I write.  The good news is that since I am writing all this here, I don’t have to say anything to Matt.  So in his eyes at least, I am still as patient as a saint :).

3 Responses to “Patience is Wearing Thin”

  1. Stauchie! August 8, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    Typical guy! He asks you to stop talking about weddings and then is oblivious to the fact that he brings it up on a regular basis.

  2. Jose August 8, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    Patience is the key. Getting engaged is a big commitment. When the time is right, it will happen. It is not a good thing to pressure Matt into proposing because the proposal will not mean anything.

  3. Karen August 9, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    Awesome! You’re doing great!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

