Here comes the bride-ish!

14 Aug

Ahhhhhh.  It’s been a crazy week.  Mostly because school started again on Thursday.  So it’s back to the mines, back to life as usual.  Totally unrelated comment as far as this blog goes, but I always find it amusing how often we teachers complain about having to work (you know it’s true, teach).  Like I literally think to myself sometimes “Aw man, we have to work FIVE days this week!  Unbelievable!” to which every other person on the planet (except maybe my mom) responds “Oh, poor baby!  Five whole days!”  I looked at the calendar yesterday and was very upset to see that we don’t have a day off for TWO weeks!  Sigh.

Anyway, one bad thing about going back to school (besides the obvious) is all the free time I spend in front of my computer.  Before school, at brunch, during lunch, on my prep, waiting for traffic to clear out after school.  Of course, it won’t be long before that time is spent grading essays, but for now, I find myself using that time to look at websites.  What kind of wesbites, you ask?

Have you met me?

I spend my time on greenweddingshoes.com, and the Knot and Here Comes the Guide and doing random searches for cool wedding locations.  It’s a little ridiculous.  Okay…maybe it’s a lot ridiculous.

Up until this morning, nothing had changed.  I was being patient (well, patient for me anyway) and leaving it up to Matt.  And despite one small tiff earlier in the week, things have been going well.  So of course I had to push the subject, just a little.

In the past, whenever I said something like “So I guess the next summer wedding just isn’t going to happen, huh?”  Matt hasn’t really said much.  He never came right out and said “Nope, not happening,” but he never said “No way!  It’s totally on!” either.  In fact, he usually responds much like his does to all these wedding related (unless we’re talking about the open bar): indifference.

I don’t handle indifference well.  One way or another (and by that I mean my way), I want an answer.  So today, I was straight up.

Me: I don’t want this to be an emotional conversation.  But I want to know what you think.  Is next summer totally out of the question?

Him: No, I wouldn’t say it’s out of the question.

Me: Would you say it’s probable?  Because if it is, there are some things I need to be working on and planning.  You can take your time doing your thing, but I just wanted to be prepared.  But I don’t want to plan if it’s a total non option because then I’m going to end up disappointed.

Him: I think it would be okay if you start planning.

There was also a comment from him during that convo that went something like “Look, I would have done it already but we just got paid and so I didn’t have any money.”  Really?  Where is the romance there, Mr. I-Will-Surprise-You-If-It-Kills-Me?

I’m going to trust that at this point he wouldn’t say something like that if he didn’t have the plan to follow through.  Because he knows if we go through that again, there may be some blood shed.  And it won’t be mine.

So now this blog is going to get fun!  Bring on the venue search and the food tastings (and wine tastings!) and the color schemes.  For those of you who talk to me on a daily basis, I’m going to apologize in advance.  I will try to keep in mind that you are all (you better be!) reading this blog on a regular basis and I will do my best to keep the flower/dress/invitation talk to a minimum.

But no promises 🙂

3 Responses to “Here comes the bride-ish!”

  1. Ashley August 14, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    Clearly, you need to be spending more time with your coworkers in your free time. They’d love to participate in wedding talk. =)

  2. Karen August 15, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    Well that DOES sound promising! I’m so excited for you! We have lots to talk about! Congratulations-ish! xoxo

    • Linee August 22, 2010 at 10:49 am #

      ((((Falon)))) Matt really is torturing you! I can just hear him launching into the diamond rating thing with total seriousness then leaving you sitting there with your mouth wide open……But it sounds like next summers a go….So much to do and so much fun to plan. I’m so happy for you both. You are so perfect together.
      Love Ya,
      Auntie L

Leave a Reply

