Let’s make it official

21 Aug

I’m sure this won’t come as a shock to anyone who has ever planned a wedding before, but this is a lot harder than I thought it was going to be.  There are so many places and details and restrictions and costs.  It’s a little bit overwhelming.

But we have a (hypothetical) venue, a (hypothetical) caterer, and a (preliminary) guest list.  And we have a for sure (for now) wedding date.  All of the things those wedding magazines tell you to pick first.  Of course, nothing can become official until the official engagement, which we are obviously still waiting for.

And Matt is having lots of fun making me wait.  And if he were to say anything different, well, he would be lying.  Last night we were at the Dodger game and something on the screen came up with the letter D.  Nothing even remotely wedding related.  Just the letter D.  So Matt launches into an explanation about the rating system for diamond clarity (apparently D is the highest and anything lower than M is not good…yeah, I didn’t even know that).  Obviously this boy has been doing his diamond research.  And obviously I still have not seen the fruit of his labors.  And obviously, he is enjoying making me wait and taunting me while he’s at it.

But anyway.  It’s been a lot of fun getting on with the actual wedding planning, even if it has been stressful.  Finding a venue was definitely the hardest part.  Southern California is full of tons of wedding venues, all different sizes and budgets and restrictions.  And it was the restrictions I really couldn’t handle.  I hate the idea of choosing a venue, and then having to use the vendors associated with that venue.  I am much too much of a control freak (no, really?) to have someone tell me I have to have a certain caterer or florist.  Plus, I have my heart set on a mostly DIY wedding, and most venues don’t lend themselves to that.

I think I did find the perfect place, the problem is that I haven’t seen it in person yet.  I don’t want to go check out the venue in person until I have an official engagement (I’m hung up on official today).  Hopefully when I do get to see the space it will be everything I envision it to be.  (By the way, I will post pics once the details are decided and nailed down :).)  It’s once of the few places I found that allows you to bring in everything of your own.  Which I love!

Now that I have some of the more boring details planned out (not that anything about wedding planning is boring per se), I am spending a lot more time thinking about the little details.  MarthaStewartWeddings.com is my new best friend and so far I have lots of good ideas about decorations and the extra touches that I want to have.  I can’t wait to actually start some of the DIY projects, and write about my successes (and sure to be failures) along the way.

But once again, I don’t want to do anything…until it’s official.

One Response to “Let’s make it official”

  1. Stauchie August 25, 2010 at 6:02 am #

    Aaaahh! I can’t wait to hear about the venue you checked out! But I think, especially after reading all of your posts, you’re being completely reasonable by waiting to check it out until you are officially engaged. Hold strong my friend!

Leave a Reply

