What I Wouldn’t Give for Some Fro Yo

28 Aug

Since there is not a whole lot to report this week as far as wedding plans go (still no ring, so still no official plans),  I’m going to spend this week talking about another project I am working on…me.

Every bride has the dream of looking absolutely perfect on her wedding day.  And for most brides, that means making some change to themselves.  Whiter teeth, tanner skin, and typically, a fitter body.  If I were just ten or twenty or thirty pounds thinner, then my dress would look perfect.

I am no exception in this category of wedding planning.  Only, this is something I have struggled with most of my adult life.  It seems like I have gained and lost the same thirty pounds constantly over the last few years.  When I have the motivation, I can lose weight very quickly.  I am disciplined and stay on track.  But once that tangible motivation is gone, so is my discipline and I am back to eating (and drinking) like a frat boy.

Obviously there is no better motivation than a wedding (and ensuing tropical honeymoon).  So I’m back in the dieting saddle again.  I ordered this Six Week Body Makeover program which “guarantees” thirty pounds lost in six weeks.  I don’t really buy that, but the actual plan did make a lot of sense so I went ahead and ordered it.  According to the plan, my body type gains and loses easily (true) and holds onto muscle even under fat (also true).  To work with my body, I should eat only lean protein, fruit, veggies and a small amount of carbs.

I know, I know, this seems like common sense, doesn’t it?  And while I am totally on board with what I can eat, it’s what I can’t that’s killing me.  No bread, no pasta, no coffee, no chocolate, no ice cream, no cheese and no booze.  As Matt said when I relayed this info to him, “What the hell are you going to eat?”

Today marks the end of week one on the program, and here’s what I’ve been eating: egg white and fruit smoothies for breakfast, chicken and rice and carrots for lunch, and chicken or shrimp and rice and a veggie for dinner.  Not bad, but certainly not all that appetizing.

I was about to call it all off yesterday, sitting at happy hour while everyone else sipped margaritas and munched on  chips and salsa and I drank water, but when I stepped on the scale this morning, I was glad I didn’t.  I lost six pounds!  Yay me!

Now, I know this is not a long term solution, but I figure this six week plan will give me a nice jumpstart and then I can get back to regular (but healthy) eating patterns. I will do my best to hang on for another five weeks.  I know it is going to be difficult, but I try to keep picturing trying on wedding dresses.

But I am most definitely counting down the days until this six weeks is over.  Because anyone who knows me knows I am not living the rest of my life without ice cream.

One Response to “What I Wouldn’t Give for Some Fro Yo”

  1. Debbie Schlatter Lopez September 1, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    Dear Falon,
    I love the way you write, you absolutely crack me up, and also get me a little teary-eyed, depending on the post. So, Matt is the one?!!! WOW. Seems like just yesterday we were watching ‘Grease’ and singing all of the songs. I am so happy for you sweetie. You deserve to have ALL of your dreams come true. Please keep me in the loop. Also, congratulations on your teaching position! Way to go- so proud of you.
    Love you always,
    Aunt Debbie

Leave a Reply

